Life as we know it

I was looking at my blog and realized it’s been a whopping 5 months since my last post: The National Guard Marathon.  It’s not that I haven’t had anything to say, actually, far from it:  I’ve been busy!  I’m getting ready to close out “Race Director Season” as I’ve called it this year.  4 more weeks until the NNU 100 Mile Run & Relay.  On top of directing 4 races in the last few months, I’ve beat out the competition for a permanent fed job with the Forest Service, sold my house, moved (sort-of), ran, ran, and ran some more, and slept a little (caffeine is my friend!).  I’m now looking to the future: 2014.  This coming year has promise to be a good one.  As a matter of fact, the last 10 years since graduating high school have been more than wonderful.  I’ve been lucky.  A great job with the Marines, a Bachelor’s Degree without student loans, a beautiful wife and cute-as-can-be little boy, and hours of intense and meaningful music written.  Not to mention, of course, my athletic endeavors.  I have 2 goals for 2014: A fast performance at Badwater, and the ever elusive Sub 3 Hour Marathon.  I’m scaling back on other commitments so I can simply enjoy life more.  I’ve completely handed over race director duties for Wild Idaho and IMTUF 100, and will be focusing my efforts on Standhope alone.  For as phenomenal of a course as it is, it really needs a ton of focus to become a premiere event it has the potential to be.  On top of that, there’s a whole lot of world out there to explore!

Oh, and I have pictures from my past summer.  Here’s a slideshow of my adventures in the Sun Valley area, and beyond!

Leave a Reply

