Badwater Acceptance

Recognized globally as “the world’s toughest foot race,” this legendary event pits approximately 90 of the world’s toughest athletes—runners, triathletes, adventure racers, and mountaineers—against one another and the elements. Covering 135 miles (217km) non-stop from Death Valley to Mt. Whitney, CA in temperatures up to 130F (55c), it is the most demanding and extreme running race offered anywhere on the planet. The 34th anniversary edition will be held July 11-13, 2011.

On the way to Badwater, courtesy Muellerr.ch

I’m in!  Now comes the hard part-paying for the thing.  Hopefully the National Guard can come through on this one.

I’ve been longing for this for so many years now, ALL my efforts have been for one goal-to complete the Death Valley crossing.  Starting my efforts in an attempt to honor one of my good friends that died while in the Corps, I now have the chance to go do this insane race and raise some money for the ARPKD/CHF Alliance.  I was in such utter shock and disbelief when I got the acceptance e-mail that I almost lost control of my emotions.  It truly is my day.  We are going to keep raising money to find a cure for Heidi’s kidney disease-love you sweetie.

4 thoughts on “Badwater Acceptance

  1. Congrats to you for making it in to the Bad Water run!
    Wishing you the very best in your training as you continue to prepare for this awesome race. Wooo hooo!!

    1. I meant “Badwater” in my last comment.

      Nonetheless, it’s really awesome to know that a fellow Idahoan will be in this challenging event, right up there with the best of the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

